Portreath lies within the Cornwall area of outstanding natural beauty – 3 mile north west of Redruth
The name portreath means sandy cove – the natural harbour was started in 1760. The new dock – now called little beach was constructed in the 1860s. by 1827 portreath was described as Cornwall’s most important port.
The portreath tram road (the first railway in Cornwall) was started in 1809 but the tramway was closed in 1825.
It is a small resort with a narrow harbour, it was once imported coal and exported copper.
The sandy beach has a stream running down to the sea on left hand side.
It is a surfer’s paradise – the surfers ride the big swells known as the Vortex.
Portreath is also known as Bassetts cove from the famous mining family.
It is one of the most spectacular beauty spots in the county. It has a large car park, cafes and local restaurants
The sand on the beach contains fragments of iron ore.
The most famous shipwreck around portreath was the “Escurial in 1895 – it went down in a fierce storm with the loss of 11 people
Portreath best known haunted house – smugglers cottage which features the ghost of a young man. It is hidden gem of a village.
The beach is semi – circular, sandy expanse which runs between two towering cliffs.
A charming and unpretentious village. It is one of Cornwall’s earliest industrial ports. In 1980 the Beynon shipping company donated the harbour to Cornwall council.